» » CenturyLink | 1177295

Complaint / review / scam report
CenturyLink
10/30/14: I called CenturyLink to inquire about service...

Complaint / review text:
10/30/14: I called CenturyLink to inquire about services at the new home I just purchased. I was advised of my only internet option of 10mbps at $39.95 a month.

10/31/14: I submitted an online order for that service to be activated 11/17/14.

The following week I received a call from a CenturyLink representative who advised me I was informed wrong, and I was only able to receive a max speed of 6mbps at the same cost of $39.95. I advised him I would hold the appointment at that time as I would need to check our other options.

11/8/14: We visited our new home and met 2 neighbors immediately next to us who told us they both ran off of CenturyLink at 10mbps, enough to adequately support their gaming and media streaming.

11/10/14: I contacted CenturyLink again to 1) move my activation date to a week later (11/24/14), 2) to cancel the technician visit as we realized we would be able to install ourselves without the $60 tech visit, and 3) to inquire about this new information I heard from my neighbors. I was on the phone for about an hour with various representatives, including the National Help Desk, who explained that my house was just outside the location that would allow 10mbps and my service will be housed in a separate portal, of which he provided actual numbers to help me understand. (By far, the National Help Desk was the most helpful in this whole situation).

11/24/14: As I was moving in, I received a voicemail from the CenturyLink technician telling me he was going on his lunch break, but would be heading to my home after the hour. I immediately called CenturyLink customer service to advise them I had already cancelled that service visit. This representative advised me that there was no indication of this in her notes. She advised me to "just not answer the door" as the tech would just have to drop the modem off in a secure location and I would then not be charged their service fee (information that I was aware of through their site and email confirmation). However, because we were getting our AC unit replaced that day and the tech being in and out, as well as us, I couldn't just not answer the door. So we agreed that the rep would cancel the order, and send out a new order through UPS, and I should receive the package by Friday 11/28/14. I also called the tech back to advise him that there was a mistake in this appointment.

11/1/14: After not receiving said package, I once again contacted CenturyLink around 6pm that evening. I was advised that my order was completely canceled during my most previous call. So as a recap, I had been waiting on a nonexistent package. She advised me that she would have to put in, yet, another order but I would not receive it until Thursday through Standard shipping, or I could receive it Wednesday through Express shipping for an additional $20. I voiced my concern that it wasn't fair that I would have to foot an express bill that I should have already received a week ago. She placed me on hold, then returned to tell me they would waive the $15 activation fee and would Express ship at no cost. I agreed.

12/3/14: UPS did drop off 2 packages. This struck me as odd because I was never told to expect 2 boxes. Turns out, one box holds a modem with a letter that shows an activation date of 11/25/14, and the other shows an activation date of 12/3/14.instead of calling them again, I thought it may be better to notify through their "unresolved issues" email (linked on their site). So late that night, I sent in the email explaining all the above issues, thinking that whoever received this email would get a clear picture of what has been going on. I immediately received an automatically generated email telling me they would respond in 1 business day.

12/4/14: I received a call from the technician saying he had an appointment at my house to install services, but this will be delayed because we don't have an available portal. Apparently, all portals are full and they will have to "build" a new one. At this, I called CenturyLink again, because I was concerned with why I am just now hearing about this and I wanted them to explain it to me. I was given the impression I was speaking to a supervisor. (They first transferred me to a Garret then a Katie. Both times when I was transferred, they could not hear me and I was disconnected. Garret did not attempt to call me back, Katie did. Just my point that my call did not seem of importance to at least the first supervisor.) At this point, I'm just continuing being jerked around. Did someone take my last spot in the portal they told me about while they kept dropping the ball? Or did they know about this all along and just feel the need to relay this information to me? At he end of this conversation, I was NOT given an explanation that question and I was NOT given a timeframe of when I would have service. All she told me was, "we can put in a request to notify you when we have an install date." A REQUEST has to be made to let me know when I can expect service?! She did also arrange for a return shipping label to be sent to me to send back the first modem and assured me that my account does not include 2 services.

Later that day, I received an email response that said: "Thank you for contacting us. After reviewing your email and account it appears that you have contacted us and your issue has been resolved. Please email us back if you have any additional questions or issues, or if you still need assistance with the issue you emailed us about." Signed off by a "Rachelle"

I responded by saying that the issue has NOT been resolved and explained that I had to call earlier due to NEW information, the technician's appointment and his information. I don't know if I'll be waiting til next week, next month, next year, ect?

12/5/14: Their response: "Thank you for contacting us. We promise to do everything we can to assist you with your issue to meet your expectations. I have reviewed your account and see that there is a pending order to add DSL to your account. The order is on hold for our engineering department. There were no vacant DSL ports in our access point at this time. As soon as we have an available port, a specialist will give you a call and inform you of the install date. I apologize for any inconvenience. CenturyLinkappreciates your business and values you as a customer. Our goal is to provideyou with excellent service. We will be notifying you with a resolution soon." Signed off by a "Heather"

So here I am, without internet, STILL and a company who does not value me as a customer, has not assured me they will make certain I have no more problems, and who has my personal identifying information as I wait til they FEEL like letting me know when service MIGHT be available to me, and as I hold onto a modem that was set to be activated earlier this week.

At this point, Time Warner Cable has been seen in the neighborhood and so far the neighbors we've spoken to are waiting for them to post out here to end this internet monopoly. As it stands now for me, it's a matter of who gets here first. I'm not a huge fan of TWC, but I'm pretty disgusted at CenturyLink and their lack of customer relations.

Contact information:
Author: Contact with Author


Offender: CenturyLink

Country: USA
Phone: 8772905458

Category: Miscellaneous

comments

Information
Members, of group Guest, can not leave comments on this publication.
Please register on our website, it will take a few seconds.